Deep Cove Yacht Club

Officially, the Deep Cove Yacht Club began its existence on July 31, l936 as the Deep Cove Sport Association and later became the Deep Cove Yacht & Sports Club, known fondly to most as the Deep Cove Yacht Club. Unofficially, the club’s formation was in reality the natural outcome of many of the Cove’s residents love for the water, water sports and boating. The municipality of North Vancouver had kindly allowed the club to rent a piece of land on the foreshore of Panorama Park.

Club Members cleared the land and erected a modest building and for the next forty nine years maintained and improved, all by volunteer labour, the clubhouse, grounds and floating wharves. During World War II, the clubhouse was requisitioned as an elementary school and it also served as a meeting place for the local Red Cross and Air Raid Precaution organizations.

During its early years, the clubhouse was the focal point for most of the Cove’s social and recreational activities and present Cultural Centre. By the early 1980’s, the original clubhouse was suffering from extreme old age and was replaced by the present building, with financing undertake solely by club members. In the past 20 years, the club has upgraded the wharves by installing 3 new concrete floats, electricity, water, extra lighting, security and new fingers. The club also acquired the Outstation at Iron bay in Indian Arm. DCYC members continue to pitch in and donate whatever talents they have to help keep the club functioning smoothly.

Heritage Hall on Main

Heritage Hall is a landmark building at the corner of 15th Avenue and Main Street in Vancouver.

The beautiful main floor of the building is available to rent for special events of all kinds. The building is owned by the City of Vancouver and run by the Heritage Hall Preservation Society, a non-profit charitable organization whose mandate is to restore and manage Heritage Hall. Upper floors are rented to various social service agencies.

Vancouver Rowing Club

Nestled in Stanley Park, with an unbeatable view of Coal Harbour, the Vancouver Rowing Club is the perfect location for seminars, business retreats, lunches, weddings, cocktail receptions, or gala dinners. This heritage building was opened in 1911 and still maintains its original character. Just minutes from downtown, and with three different rooms within one venue, the Vancouver Rowing Club can provide for all your groups needs.

All of our three licensed rooms: the Harbour Room, Trophy Lounge and Carver Room offer balcony/deck access with some of the most spectacular views in Vancouver. All are available for rent throughout the week, and each provides a unique glimpse into our rich history.

The Heritage Hall & Murrayville Hall

The Murrayville Hall was rebuilt in 1928 near the end of the first World War as a memorial, after the original 1909 hall burnt. It has served the social needs of the community by providing a neighborhood center for weddings, church events, craft fairs, dances, political gatherings and endless other activities. The Hall, designated a Heritage Building, provides a turn-of-the-century atmosphere with one of the best dance floors in the Fraser Valley.

“Includes tables, chairs, a kitchen and lots of FREE parking. Has a great catering kitchen.”
(open to view 6 AM to 9 PM 7 days a week)

Burnaby Village Museum

Built as a memorial to British Columbia’s centennial in 1958, this four-hectare (10-acre) open-air museum is a recreation of an early 1900s community. Among its 30 buildings and outdoor scenes are a schoolhouse, blacksmith’s shop, dentist’s office and a real working theatre. It also has an operational ice cream parlour but the main attraction is a restored 1912 carousel.

Burnaby Art Gallery

Burnaby Art Gallery is dedicated to presenting a variety of exhibitions and events in the galleries of the Burnaby Art Gallery and throughout the community. Services include educational programs for children, adults and seniors, community projects and exhibitions in schools, recreation facilities and community centres.

Lively school programs enhance and support the exhibitions in order to develop visual and cultural literacy within our community. Public programs are also designed to enrich the experience of the visitor as it relates to each exhibition. Talks and workshops are held in conjunction with some of the exhibitions, with artists and invited guests discussing issues surrounding the subject of the artworks.

Parish of St. George

The story of St. George’s Anglican Church began in 1859, when the Hudson Bay Company’s chaplain, the Reverend W.B. Crickmer, built a church at Derby, three miles west of the present town of Fort Langley and the original site of the Hudson Bay Company’s fort. By 1871, the colony at Derby had dwindled and Reverend Crickmer returned to England. In 1879, the church was moved across the Fraser River to Maple Ridge. This same year, the Diocese of New Westminster was formed under Bishop Sillitoe and the Langley parish came under the charge of the Reverend William Bell, who conducted services in the school house and in the Big House at the Fort.

The Galbraith Manor

The Galbraith is an 1892 Queen Anne revival and one of the finest examples of high Victorian stick style mansions remaining in western Canada. Built as a showcase by Hugh Galbraith, one of the local lumber and millwork barons of that time, who emphasized the opulent and unique features of a tower with octagon wall shingles, over 200 corbels, intricate frieze details, heavy gable and skirt details, wood finials and a magnificent metal finial spire.


Barclay Manor

Barclay Manor is a jewel in the heart of the city. A Historic Heritage home renovated for use for weddings, meetings, and many other different events.

Numerous movies have been shot in and around the Manor due to it’s close proximity to the “Barclay Heritage Square” which encompasses the entire block.

Just like our other two facilities, Barclay Manor has rooms to rent. They are quite affordable and are filled with the atmosphere of warmth and character.

Roma Hall

Established in 1929, the Italian Mutual Aid Society, I.M.A.S., has been running the Roma Hall for over 70 years. With that kind of experience and reputation, we must be doing something right.

The first weddings celebrated in the hall were those of the members and their children. The community would come together and the wives of the members would do all the cooking.

From there, with word of mouth advertising, they began to cater receptions of friends and then strangers that wanted to have their wedding reception at the Roma Hall.

There have been 2 major renovations done on the hall, creating a larger space for guests as well as a larger more effective kitchen.

The Roma Hall has grown over the years and now, with personalized service, great staff, and most importantly, fantastic food, we look forward to making your reception, anniversary, or banquet something extra special.